CHRISTUS St. Michael Health System Presents Nursing Excellence Awards 2022

Texarkana, TX, May 13, 2022 – CHRISTUS St. Michael Health System recognized 51 nurses at the 2022 Nursing Excellence Awards event on May 12, 2022. Award recipients were nominated by their peers for professionally modeling the CHRISTUS St. Michael mission, vision and core values while driving quality patient outcomes and delivering excellent standards of care.

Four organization-wide awards were presented to Nurse of the Year: Stephanie Fritts, NICU; Rookie of the Year: Harli Kilgore, ICU; Structural Empowerment Role Model: Barbara Wright, Labor & Delivery; and Transformational Leader: Rebecca Barr, NICU. Departmental-level awards honored 20 Nurses of the Year, 13 Rookies of the Year and 14 Structural Empowerment Roles Models.

Departmental Nurses of the Year are Brenda McMurrian, 3 South; Kayla Parilla, 5 South;

Chase Stephenson, 6 South; Kimberly Bredehoeft, Atlanta; Patty Jones, Cancer Treatment; Joyce Lemieux, Cath Lab; Latoya Spellman, Day Surgery; Stephanie Williams, Dialysis; Kayla Townsend, Emergency Department; Shelly Carl, Float Pool; Amy Ware, ICU; Angela Kidd, Labor & Delivery; Amanda Roa, Mother/Baby; Stephanie Fritts, NICU; Angela Berry, PACU; Treasa Mills, Pain Management/GI Lab; Destiny Rodgers, PCU; LaKisha Lowe, RCU; John Solley, Rehab; and Kaitlin Sipes, Surgery.

Departmental Rookies of the Year are Christopher Stafford, 3 South; Juan Delgado, 5 South; Graham Sams, 6 South; Jaylie Abernathy, Atlanta; Faith Lipham, Emergency Department; Laressa Harris, Float Pool; Harli Kilgore, ICU; MaKenzi Cross, Labor & Delivery; Kirsten Anderson, Mother/Baby; Gabriella Quinn, NICU; Rosa Olguin, PCU; Timothy Hawthorne, RCU; and Bailey Taylor, Rehabilitation.

Departmental Structural Empowerment Role Models are Nancy Turner, 5 South;

Breanna Willey, 6 South; Ryan Martin, Float Pool; Tami Hancock, Atlanta; Kayla Townsend,

Emergency Department; Lauren Zeigler, ICU; Barbara Wright, Labor & Delivery;

Amanda Roa, Mother/Baby; Angela Watson, NICU; Jessica Pastakia, Day Surgery;

Cheyenne Solley, PCU; John Solley, Rehab; Holly Perez, RCU; and Kaitlin Sipes, Surgery.

“We are excited to acknowledge our 2022 Nursing Excellence Awards recipients for their contributions to our healthcare ministry and service to the community,” said Louise Thornell, PhD, MsBA, RN, NE-BC, VP/Chief Nursing Officer for CHRISTUS St. Michael Health System. “These recipients are great examples of inspiration, consistently demonstrating dedication to the wellbeing of others.”

“The last two years have provided us with a view of the nursing profession in ways that we could not have imagined,” she continued. “Our nurses and other healthcare professionals have risen to the challenges brought by the pandemic, demonstrating dedication and selflessness and meeting adversity head on. The professional excellence of our 2022 awardees is lighting the way for the future of healthcare and the continued provision of outstanding care, experience and outcomes for our patients.”

Nursing Excellence Awards 2022

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: